Karlheinz Essl

Portrait KHE

Sequitur IVb

for viola and live-electronics

Dedicated to Alexander Bruck

Score | Software | Performances | Reviews

Creative Commons License

Alexander Bruck: viola, Karlheinz Essl: live-electronics, Nadia Lartigue: dance
Mexico City, Sala Miguel Covarrubias (UNAM)
Premier of LABoratorio on 3 Sep 2011


Sequitur is a series of compositions for various solo instruments and live-electronics which I started in 2008. Somehow it can be seen as a reference to Berio’s famous “Sequenze” cycle of solo pieces which focus on specific playing techniques of the respective instrument. Up to now I have finished more than a dozen pieces including orchestral instruments like flute and violin, but also for voice and more exotic ones such as electric guitar, toy piano and kalimba.

All Sequitur compositions use a software written in MaxMSP which creates an electronic accompaniment from the instrument’s live input; the player is confronted with his own playing, and this creates a situation like moving in a house of mirrors where the identities becomes blurred. Each piece can be performed by the player alone who just has to press a key on the computer keyboard whenever this is indicated in the score. The software generates a complex canon on the fly, the temporal structure and density of which being controlled by random operations. This yields different results every time the piece is performed. Although following a precisely notated score, there is always a good portion of surprise for the musician which emphasizes his awareness and attentiveness.


The score of Sequitur IVb can be downloaded for free. Please note that the music is protected by copyright.

Home Works Sounds Bibliography Concerts

Updated: 11 Mar 2017